Majella National Park

The whole area of Majella National Park consists of four main mountain chains (Majella, Morrone, Porrara and Pizzi Mounts) alternating with karst plateaux and river valleys. Its peculiarity lies both in its mountainous landscape (more than 60 ranges, 30 of which rise up to over 2,000 m) and in its Mediterranean geographical position that make it a wilderness area with high levels of biodiversity. Its environmental importance is also marked by the fact it is the linkage zone between the two protected areas of Gran Sasso-Laga Mountains and Sirente-Velino Regional Park. The human presence dating back to Palaeolithic is attested by countless historical, archaeological and architectural remains located in 39 municipalities. Majella National Park is characterised by vast areas with a high naturalistic value. More than 50 different habitats have … »